Here is the step by step guide on how to add your these important roles to your cap table and how to restrict or give them permission.
Step 1: Once you have logged into your account on Eqvista and selected the company profile, click on “Company” on the left-side panel on the dashboard. By clicking on this, a sub menu will appear. From here, click on “Users” as shown below:
Step 2: As soon as you click on “Users”, you will be directed to the next page where you find an option to add a user.
Note 1: A user is not necessarily a shareholder in the company. A user can be someone who needs to just view the cap table. A user can only access a specific amount in the app based on the kind of permission they have.
As of now, there are three main kinds of users you can add to your cap table. They are:
- External Advisor
We would take the example of adding an accountant.
On this page, you will see a button that says “Add New User” at the top right hand side of the page. Click on this button to add a new user to the cap table.
Step 3: By clicking on “Add New User”, a pop up dialogue box will appear as shown below.
You would have to fill in the details like the first name, last name, email address, and the role of the user. Once you have filled in these details, select if you want to share access to the cap table now or later, and then click on “Submit”.
Step 4: As soon as you click on “Submit”, you would be directed to the following page as below.
You can click on the name of the user to edit any other details further.
Step 5: After you click on the Name of the User (in this case accountant), you will be directed to the following page.
Here, you would see the option to “Edit Information” at the top right-hand side of the screen. Also, if you wish to delete the user, you can click on the option “Delete”, on the top right-hand side of the screen.
Assuming that you want to edit some information of the user, click on “Edit Information”.
Step 6: Once you do this, a dialogue box will appear as shown below.
Note:You will only be able to change the phone number and Skype ID of the user. In case you made a mistake in the name or email ID, you will have to delete the user and re-create another one with the proper information.
Add in the information that you want and click on “Save”. If you do not want to change or add any information, you can also click on “Cancel”. You will then be directed back to the user profile page.
Step 7: You can also share access to the cap table. From the user profile page, click on “Share Access” as shown below.
This is important as without access, a user cannot view the cap table.
Step 8: Once you have completed editing and sharing the access as needed, you will be directed to the main page where all the Users can be seen as shown below.
Note: Only the Superuser has the option to delete a company.
Here, you will be able to see all the users and also add as many users as you want.
Step 9: Let us assume that you want to delete the External Advisor (or any from the company if they are no longer working with you). In this case, you will first have to click on the person’s name in the User’s main page as shared above.
Once you do that, you will be directed to the page that holds the person’s profile as shown below.
Here, click on “Delete”.
Step 10: Once you do this, a dialogue box will appear as shown below.
Step 11: As soon as this has been done, you will be directed back to the page where you will be able to view all the users as shown below.
You can clearly see that the user has been deleted from the list. The same can be done for the other users.
If you have any doubts or want to know more, check out the other support articles here or contact us!